ONLINE EVENT - Dorsky Symposium: The Works of Jan Sawka

The Samuel Dorsky Museum of Art at SUNY New Paltz will join with a peer museum in California to present an online symposium celebrating the life and work of contemporary artist Jan Sawka. “Dreams & Memories: Jan Sawka, Coast to Coast” will take place on Saturday, May 2, at 1 p.m. EST (10 a.m. PST; 7 p.m. CEST) as a unique virtual museum collaboration between The Dorsky Museum and The Robert and Frances Fullerton Museum of Art (RAFFMA) at Cal State San Bernardino. In the time of COVID-19, when our world is practicing social distancing, itself a form of displacement, the work of Jan Sawka is especially prescient and moving. Sawka's works dealing with the longing for freedom, coupled with the deep empathy and sense of loss that only exile can bring, express an expansive sense of the beauty that hope, art and nature make available to human beings. The symposium will showcase two concurrent exhibitions at university art museums on opposite ends of the continent. The Dorsky opened “Jan Sawka: The Place of Memory (The Memory of Place)” in early February as a thematic documentation of Sawka’s meditations on memory and location. After each presentation, viewers will be able to engage with the speakers over live Q&A chats.The Dorsky Museum will publish instructions for accessing the online symposium as it approaches. About the artist: Jan Sawka was a visual artist, painter, printmaker, graphic artist, set designer, and architect. Already known internationally as a member of the Polish School of the Poster, he was exiled from Poland in 1976 and settled in New York City with his family in 1977, where he illustrated commentary for the Op-Ed page of the New York Times and designed graphics and sets for Off-Broadway theaters, as well as launching a successful gallery career as a painter.       

Saturday, May 2, 2020 - 1 pm to 4 pm
Samuel Dorsky Museum of Art
1 Hawk Drive
New Paltz
12561
845-257-3844

Visit Website